The inclusion of the territories of eight districts of Yakutia into the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation (AZRF) will allow regional authorities to apply programmatic methods of managing these territories, as well as attract investors for the implementation of promising industrial projects. This opinion was expressed on Tuesday by expert of the PORA Expert Center (Project Office for Arctic Development), RANEPA associate professor Aleksandr Vorotnikov.

On May 13 Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree expanding the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation at the expense of eight districts of Yakutia. Earlier the Arctic zone included the territory of five districts of Yakutia.

“This issue has been discussed for several years. And it is rather strange that territories with similar conditions had a different status. Now there are opportunities for the development of the Arctic zone of the republic to receive a new impetus. The government can more purposefully and systematically develop the Arctic zone of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) using programmatic methods, in particular the development of transport infrastructure, the creation of conditions for the development of social entrepreneurship and the Arctic tourism,” said Vorotnikov.

He added that the new status of eight northern uluses (districts) will extend to them the new law “On state support of investment activity in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation,” which was prepared by the Ministry for Development of Russian Far East on the instructions of the president, reports TASS.

“Moreover, the mechanism for supporting investment activities in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation is basically similar to the legal mechanism for supporting business activities established by federal law of July 13, 2015 No. 212-FZ “On the Free Port of Vladivostok.” The republic already has the experience of implementing this law. Without any doubt, the new law will allow attracting new investments and investors in the development of the regions of the Arctic zone of the republic,” the expert noted.

The Arctic zone of the Russian Federation includes the territories of the Murmansk Region, the Nenets, Chukotka and Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Districts, the Republic of Komi, several districts of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), the city of Norilsk, two districts of the Krasnoyarsk Territory, municipalities of the Arkhangelsk Region. In addition, the Russian Arctic zone includes part of the islands and archipelagos of the Arctic Ocean.

Source: Press Service of the Head of the RS (Y) and the Government of the RS (Y)